The Young CPA Cabinet established the “Taking it to the Max” Award to honor the legacy of Maximo “Max” Mukelabai, 2011–12 NCACPA Chair, who passed  away unexpectedly on July 8, 2011. Max championed engagement in the accounting profession and noted, “Being a part of a profession requires that you participate therein. In order to participate, one must  be present.” He challenged young association members to “come in, learn, listen, and then, obviously, stay engaged.” Max set an example of engagement through his service and was the first member of the Young CPA Cabinet to come up the ranks and serve as association chair.

This award recognizes a former Young CPA Cabinet member who exemplifies the meaning of engagement—a person who continues to make outstanding contributions to the association and the profession even after their cabinet service is complete.

The honoree will be recognized at the association’s Annual Business Meeting in May. All nominees are required to be a fellow NCACPA member. The award winner will be selected by the Young CPA Cabinet and confirmed by the Executive Committee.

To be eligible for the “Taking it to the Max” Award, the nominee must be:

  • A former Young CPA Cabinet member
  • A current member of NCACPA
  • Distinguished by their engagement in the association and accounting profession after their Cabinet term


Past Award Winners:

Mark Soticheck
Dianne Uzzell
Jonathan Kraftchick
Ronnie Eubanks
Jared Plummer
Erica Brown
Whitney Gann

Application deadline: December 13, 2019

If you have any questions, please contact Hannah McCain or Holly Bazemore.

Nominate someone now!